The Unanswered Prayers

image

“He went on a little farther and bowed with His face to the ground, praying, ‘My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me. Yet I want Your will to be done, not mine.'”
~ Matthew 26:39

Some prayers can never be answered, simply because it is not God’s will.
Jesus prayed so hard, three times (Verse 39, 42, 44), for the Father not to let Him go through the sufferings He had to got through. But God didn’t do it Jesus’ way at that time. Jesus came on earth not just to die for us but to also be examplary on how to honor the Father. Though He was God the Son, He yielded to the Father, He showed us that we have to pray, to fast, to serve, etc. In this case Jesus taught us that the Father’s will is always the right will, despite what it looks like in the beginning. Jesus did not say to God the Father, ‘this is not fair!’ or ‘Why is this the only way?’ He said ‘Your will be done!’

It is God’s will to answer our every prayer.
John 14:14
“Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!”
But when we pray we have to always remember to ask according to His will, and not ours. For sometimes He does answer a plea which is not His will just because He promised to answer all our prayers. But when that happens, the request will cause you to stumble because it is not what God wills, or because it may not be the right time for God to do it for you.

He has taught me that lesson a few times, before I learnt to ask according to His will. I can surely say He answers my every prayer! Some answered prayers though, have landed me into trouble. I believe God allowed it so that I could learn from these experiences. It is just like the saying “Be careful what you wish for cause you just might get it!” Twice I found myself repenting for that which I had persistently asked God. Because when He answered me I began to worship that thing such that I lost so much focus on Him and transfered most of my attention to it, which obviously drew me many steps away from His presence. It was because I was not spiritualy ready or matured to handle these reqests.

When I had learnt this lesson, I started to pray according to God’s will. When I did this I realised that some prayers were not being answered and some answers were delayed. And I knew, and had learnt that if these prayers were to be answered my way, they would have caused chaos in my life.
Just like in Verse 53 Jesus said to His disciples,
“Don’t you realise that I could ask my Father for thousands of angels to protect us, and He would send them instantly?”

It would have been a disaster if Jesus did not pray according to the Father’s will. He would never have died on the cross. There would not be salvation of souls, we would still have to sacrifice animals for the forgiveness of sins because Jesus’ blood would not have been shed.

Give thanks to God our Father for being a father who overlooks our foolish ways and instead blesses us with His loving ways.
❤ He loves you! ❤

One thought on “The Unanswered Prayers

  1. Pingback: The Power of Words « doyoumeanwhatiknow

Leave a Reply

